Oakland County

The county seat is Pontiac. Oakland County is part of the Detroit metropolitan area, though the city of Detroit is located in neighboring Wayne County.  It is among the ten highest income counties in the United States with populations over one million people. Oakland County is home to 62 cities, villages and townships. These communities range from blue-collar, inner-ring suburbs like Ferndale and Hazel Park, to affluent cities such as Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, West Bloomfield Township, Oakland Township and Franklin. The white-collar cities of Troy, Southfield, Farmington Hills, and Auburn Hills host a rich mix of Fortune 500 companies and international firms. The cities of Royal Oak and Ferndale attract many young people to their mature, bohemian downtowns, which have many restaurants, shops and night clubs. Many places such as Waterford Township, Independence Township, and Springfield Township to name a few have a variety of businesses and incomes. Oakland County is also home to Oakland University, a large public institution that straddles the Auburn Hills and Rochester Hills border.  The county's knowledge-based economic initiative, coined "Automation Alley", is one of the largest employment centers for engineering and related occupations in the United States.


Communities:  Addison, Auburn Hills, Berkley, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Bloomfield Township, Brandon Township, Clarkston, Clawson, Commerce Township, Farmington Hills, Farmington, Fenton, Ferndale, Franklin, Groveland Township, Hazel Park, Highland TownshipHolly, Holly Township, Huntington Woods, Independence Township, Keego Harbor, Lake Angelus, Lake Orion, Lathrup Village, Leonard, Lyon Township, Madison Heights, Milford, Milford Township, Northville, Novi, Oak Park, Oakland Township, Orchard Lake, Orion Township, Ortonville, Oxford, Oxford Township, Pontiac, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Rose Township, Royal Oak, Royal Oak Township, South Lyon, Southfield, Springfield Township, Sylvan Lake, Troy, Walled Lake, Waterford, West Bloomfield, White Lake, Wixom and Wolverine Lake.